Semana 15: Family Matters

Hola mi familia y mis amigos! (At times, I wonder if they got the idea for Jar Jar from Spanish, simply because I’ve heard so many Latinos say “Mis-a”…)

I am really glad that I was “born” into the ward I am in now; although we are in an English ward, white people are the minority. We have lots of Haitians and Latinos that prefer English, and so I get to have the best of both worlds. It is a great place to be trained. Still, I would like a pure Spanish area so I am more absorbed in the language.

I heard a really great talk this week from an LDS businessman and Motivational Speaker named Hyrum Smith. This is probably one of the best motivational talks that I have heard in my LIFE! It is called “The Belief Window.”  He lists out a diagram of why people behave a certain way. It is a short talk, but it is amazing! If you want someone to help explain how to change your thought process or behavior, listen to this talk! (This is a great attitude changer outside of the scriptures, of course. This helps magnify what is taught in the scriptures). Another one of my favorites that he did was “Why 1820”, in the which he describes why (logically and historically) a restoration could not have possibly happened before 1820. It is really interesting.

It has been a little over 3 months since I have entered the MTC and started my mission. And BOY has it been the hardest 3 months of my life! I have never pushed myself so hard in all of my life, especially physically, mentally, and emotionally. However, I would not ever give the past 3 months back. They were, so far, the best 3 months of my life, and the best 3 months for my life. I have learned so much, and I have sweat so much. I had laughed so much, and I have cried so much–about 1/4 was from laughing so hard!     XD      I still am working on changing myself to be a better missionary, but I have changed so much that you would not recognize me if you just saw my attitude change. I still hate mornings, but I love everything else (like Chobani…Ginger Ale…Jarritos…Latino food…Horchatas…and the people that we meet every day.) I never thought I would have so much fun doing work, especially in talking to people. I said last week that I have met every religion but Hindu. I have now met two Hindus in the past week. I have actually not met any Satanists yet, and now that I say that I will probably meet 5 this week. We’ve meet some really funny people out here in the mission.

Extra Cosas: This area is interesting. We have been living with another set of missionaries (Elder Wilhite and Hanson) since the beginning of last transfer. Elder Wilhite and I get along the best out of everyone in the house because we talk about the nerdy stuff like Star Wars (90% of our conversations), the Dark Crystal, Batman vs. Superman stuff that his parents told him about (which sounds even more awesome!), favorite comic heroes and villains, etc.  We do have a lot of fun together, though. It’s like having Uncles.

There is not a lot of other things that have happened. I love you all and can’t wait to share the adventures that happen this next week!

Elder Osborne

PS.  I don’t have any pictures for this week.  Sorry!

Leave a Reply

