Week 2 in the Field!!

Hola familia, amigos, y los otros personas!!

Not much has been going on this week. Our time schedule: Studies (Personal, Companion, etc) until 12 (porque soy un nuevo missionaro), we meet with members and investigators until 5, have dinner, knock doors from 6-7, and try to meet with members from 7:30 to 9:00 (we bike, so we take extra time to bike to and from places.) This is much of our week, excluding Mondays (P-Days) and Sundays (porque Iglesia).

This is the way that the mission works considering new investigators: We are only looking for those who are elect and are ready right now. We do not focus on those who are “close” or “almost ready.” We are looking for those elect who have not become members because they did not know where to find the truth. As such, we have found many people who seem elect and ready, but for some reason or another they are not ready. This is not a “this is how I think we should do things.” This is directly from the Mission President that these are the people we are looking for. As such, we are not successful in the terms of numbers of baptisms per month, but we are finding people who need that seed planted. We have found that for those people who still need that little push or that bit of information, maybe they will be ready for it later.

In my studies this week, I have found one piece of advice that I can give you: Study the Book of Mormon every day, but also study the words of Isaiah (yes, I am being that guy). I have a love for Isaiah; although he is difficult to understand, there is so much that you can learn from his words (Did you know that out of all of the Old Testament Prophets, Isaiah is quoted the most in the New Testament, the Book of Mormon, and Doctrine and Covenants??) Oh, and Malachi is good too. So are the rest of the prophets…but I like Isaiah right now, so I am going to mention him a lot.

There is so much to learn from the scriptures. Study them daily! Feast upon the words of Christ! I wish I could study everything 24/7, but I cannot. I am called to be a vessel for the Spirit. I am not called to study. Even when I am released from this calling in 2 years, I cannot study the scriptures 24/7 because I’ll need to live my life and learn and provide and work. So all of you young people; Study while you can. You will not regret it!

I close mine epistle of ranting. 🙂

I am Elder Osborne, missionary and representative of the Lord Jesus Christ!

(…bonus points for whoever gets this)

Elder Osborne with President and Sister Richardson.  We finally received this picture and a letter about 10 days after Elder Osborne arrived in Florida.  Better late than never!

Elder Osborne with President and Sister Richardson. We finally received this picture and a letter about 10 days after Elder Osborne arrived in Florida. Better late than never!

Leave a Reply

