Week 3: MTC and the Spoken Word

This week was awesome!! I had a very productive week.  It was amazing!

Last week’s experience being sick really taught me a lot. Part of what made it so spiritual was the fact that I got sick after I prayed for an experience in the temple. I had a feeling of, “Are you sure you want this? You may not like it,” right after I said the prayer.  It helped me with a testimony that God does answer prayers, especially prayers that are for your growth.  I also learned that He always does what He says He will do.  I had a feeling I was going to get sick, but I didn’t know.

Our Thursday, Friday, and Saturday were fairly normal.  On Sunday, nothing really happened until that night: Lloyd Newell came and spoke to us.  You know, the white Morgan Freeman (or, as I lke to call him, Morman Freeman   XD XD XD XD ).  His message focused on “fear not.”  I made a program, and I took a picture of it, but I left my camera in the classroom last night.  I will send lots of pictures next week, I promise!!

We watch a church video every Sunday after devotional.  This Sunday we planned to watch a talk by Elder Oaks, but it didn’t work, so we went to the next best thing: The Testaments.  It was probably the best time I ever had with that movie, and it is one of my favorite church-made movies.  Oh, did I mention that it was in Japanese with English subtitles? My favorite part of the show was when Kohor (the bad guy) died, and a Sister in the front started cheering and laughing hysterically!  It was the funniest thing that has happened so far!

We currently have three investigators: Victor, Timoteo, and Alan.  Victor is progressing nicely.  He is reading the Book of Mormon, praying, and has accepted the invitation to watch conference in two weeks. (Also, I did hear about the death of Elder Scott. I am honestly glad that he is with his wife again.) Timoteo has a smoking addiction, but has so far accepted the Word of Wisdom and is working on breaking his addicition.

Alan is a good kid, but he doesn’t really want to be an investigator.  He is only at the discussions because his primo (cousin) volunteered him to take the discussions.  I am honest when I say that I love him and I want him to be happy, but we cannot help him if he refuses to do the basics, and then shuts out the spirit when he does those things with us.  I am glad we have him, though.  I learn from the spirit every time we go and teach him.

Nothing else for now.  Thank you all for the letters and DearElders.  They mean so much to me!  Como, really!  They mean so much.  Every letter makes me feel like it’s Christmas.  That is a wonderful feeling.  Thank you!

I love you guys!  I pray for you every day!  Keep going forward!

Elder Osborne

And since we don’t have any MTC pictures yet, I’ll just keep looking at this one….Wendy Family_0030

Leave a Reply

