Week 2: Blessing of Sickness?

This week has been a hard week.  I got my flu shot last Wednesday.  We went to the temple a few hours later.  I felt prompted to pray, and I decided I would pray for a faith strengthening experience.  I can say with a surety that I know that God answers prayers.

The next day, around 12:00, I started to feel a little off.  This continued to get worse throughout the day.  My companion felt my forehead and forced me to go to the Doctor.  I had the record temperature for the week: 102.6.  Since there were no doctors on campus at that time, they took me to the BYU health clinic, where we were stranded for 4 hours.  The doctors took my temperature again (103.4 and counting), tested me for flu and strep, x-rayed for pneumonia, re-swabbed my throat (they did the first strep test wrong), and then forced me to bed for the remainder of the  night.  My diagnosis:  ?????itis.  They did not know what it was. (And I can say that I was not happy about that.  I am happy that I only had to pay 10 bucks for that, since I am a missionary.  Missionary Discount Activate!!!) [Be still mom’s heart.  I can’t wait for the bill.  At least he didn’t have to pay it!]

I remember thinking, “Why did I get this?”  The answer, “You asked for this, dummy!  You knew you were going to get something.”  Like I said before, God does answer prayers, especially prayers offered in the temple.

We got one of our investigators, Jorge, to commit to baptism.  He left the next day, though, but we got a new teacher (who looked suspiciously like Jorge…) named Hermano Rios.  We also got 3 more investigators: Aran, Victor (who also looks like Jorge…am I missing something?), and Timoteo (who looks like Hermano Parker, the language teacher….I think I’m being played).  They are all good investigators.  Aran is a bit hard because he doesn’t want to be there most of the time.  I hope the spirit softens his heart.

You asked about my schedule:  We get up at 6:30am.  We study from 7 to 8.  At 8 we have breakfast.  We have gym from 8:30-9:20.  We get to class around 9:50.  We have class for 3+ hours.  We go to lunch at 12:50.  Then we have class for 3+ hours.  We have dinner at 5:45.  Then we have class for 3+ hours.  We get back to our rooms around 9:45.  We go to bed at 10:30.  That’s what our normal schedule is.

Our gym time consists of Book of Mormon Four-Square.  We prophesy concerning the king and the warriors attempting to de-throne the king.  Many have fallen upon their swords in battles.  Elder Osborne was consistently murdered before he could obtain the kingdom.  He was not pleased.  No gusta.

The scriptures for the week:  Doctrina y Convenyos 1:25-28

“And inasmuch as they erred it might be made known; And inasmuch as they sought wisdom they might be instructed; And inasmuch as they sinned they might be chastened, that they might repent; And inasmuch as they were humble they might be made strong, and blessed from on high, and receive knowledge from time to time.”

and D&C 42:61

“If thou shalt ask, thou shalt receive revelatin upon revelation, knowledge upon knowledge, that thou mayest know the mysteries and peaceable things–that which bringeth joy, that which bringeth life eternal.”

That is it for now.  I keep forgetting to take pictures.  I will strive harder this week!

Oh, and I love the pictures of the Bear.  It made my day!

Elder Osborne

Here are the pictures of the bear.  We had it made with a recording of Elder Osborne’s voice inside.  Little Man still isn’t sure what to do with a stuffed animal that sounds like his brother.

IMG_2320  IMG_2318IMG_2317  IMG_2319

Leave a Reply

